Peshawar Zalmi Players & Matches.

Peshawar Zalmi all players and matches

Peshawar Zalmi is a Pakistani franchise T20 cricket group which performs within the Pakistan Super League and represents Peshawar, the capital town of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa province of Pakistan. The group is owned with the aid of Javed Afridi of Haier Pakistan. Peshawar Zalmi became mounted in 2015 following the announcement of the inaugural Pakistan Super League (PSL) by using the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB). Darren Sammy is the cutting-edge captain of the group as of October 2016 and Mohammad Akram is the pinnacle train.

Kamran Akmal is the leading run-scorer for the facet, even as Wahab Riaz is the main wicket-taker. Haier is the brand ambassador of Peshawar Zalmi.

Peshawar Zalmi in 2018

In the outlet healthy of 2018 season, defending champions Zalmi suffered a loss towards new entrants Multan Sultans by way of 7 wickets. The next game, Zalmi secured a relaxed 34-run win over Islamabad United. Defending a goal of 176, Zalmi’s debuting fast bowler, Umaid Asif, turned into the famous person performer as he decreased the competition to 25-4 in the powerplay. Continuing on, the group suffered a loss in opposition to Karachi Kings in a carefully fought recreation. Batting first, the Zalmis lost wickets with ordinary consistency. Only Dwayne Smith’s unbeaten innings of 71 runs got them to a decent total of 131. Defending it, they took the game to the remaining three balls before the Kings prevailed by means of five wickets.

As the tournament shifted to Sharjah, the team gained a mystery against opponents Quetta Gladiators. Batting first, the Gladiators set a target of 143 in a batting display that turned into punctuated with starts and prevents on a -paced pitch. In response, the Zalmis had been on the path for victory at 107-2 earlier than dropping 3 short wickets to turn out to be requiring 22 runs from the ultimate overs.

At this factor, an injured Darren Sammy single-handedly gained the match for his group through striking sixteen runs from 4 balls to finish the game with 2 balls to move. The following recreation, the Zalmis beat Lahore Qalandars with no trouble inside the chase of a low target of 101 runs. The margin of the win changed into 10 wickets – the primary such instance in the records of the PSL. Additionally, this was the primary game for Zalmi’s principal pacer, Hasan Ali this season as he was sidelined because of damage.

In the final, Peshawar Zalmi misplaced to Islamabad United via 3 wickets. Peshawar Zalmi won the toss and elected to bat first. Peshawar’s in-form batsman Kamran Akmal become out lbw for 1 run off 8 balls, with Samit Patel taking the wicket inside the third over early on. Chris Jordan and Liam Dawson had been concerned in a fourth-wicket fifty-partnership. Later, Wahab Riaz’s 28 runs off 14 balls ensured their facet reached a complete of 148 runs.

Islamabad’s Luke Ronchi hit 5 sixes within the first five overs as he raced to forty-five runs off just 15 balls, before he got out in the 9th over after scoring a 26-ball 52, batting 2nd. But an unexpected crumble ended in Islamabad losing six wickets for 20 runs leaving them at 116/6. Akmal then dropped a trap at best leg when Asif Ali tried a pull shot off Umaid Asif with Islamabad wanting 30 runs off 33 balls. Asif Ali then hit 3 sixes at the trot off Hasan Ali. Islamabad’s Faheem Ashraf hooked Wahab Riaz for six with just one run required within the seventeenth over.


Peshawar Zalmi won the Pakistan Super League (PSL) in 2017, beating Quetta Gladiators in the final by 58 runs at Gaddafi Stadium Lahore thanks to Darren Sammy’s heroics with the bat, which earned him the name of Darren Sammy Khan.

Peshawar Zalmi has among the best win/loss ratios for any PSL franchise, speaking for the quality of cricket played by its players. Some of the most consistently performing players include Kamran Akmal and Wahab Riaz, as both are leading their respective charts, batting and bowling.

One of the main reasons behind the franchise’s success is the fact that the team management has stuck to the same set of players, ensuring team bonding thereby better teamwork, on and off the field.

Darren Sammy, two times World T20 and one time PSL winner, will once again lead the side and hope to add another title to his portfolio. Peshawar Zalmi is immensely popular in Pakistan, with massive fan following, not just in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa but all across the country. You can see the Zalmi yellow almost everywhere you go during PSL time of the year.

Peshawar Zalmi 2019 Squad

Darren SammyWahab RiazMisbah ul Haq
Dawid MalanKamran AkmalKieron Pollard
Hassan AliLiam DawsonImam-ul-Haq
Khalid UsmanUmaid AsifUmar Amin
Jamal AnwarShoaib MaqsoodWayne Madsen
Waqar SalamkheilNabi GulSameen Gul
SamiullahIbtisam SheikhChris Jordan

Peshawar Zalmi All Matches:
15th FebruaryFriday Peshawar Zalmi v Quetta Gladiators Dubai
17th FebruarySunday Peshawar Zalmi v Lahore QalandarsDubai
21st FebruaryThursday Peshawar Zalmi v Karachi KingsSharjah
22nd FebruaryFriday Peshawar Zalmi v Islamabad United Sharjah
24th FebruarySunday Peshawar Zalmi v Multan Sultans Sharjah
28th FebruaryThursday Peshawar Zalmi v Multan Sultans Dubai
1st MarchFriday Peshawar Zalmi vs Islamabad UnitedDubai
4th MarchMonday Peshawar Zalmi v Quetta GladiatorsAbu Dhabi
5th MarchTuesday Peshawar Zalmi v Lahore QalandarsAbu Dhabi
7th MarchThursday Peshawar Zalmi v Karachi KingsKarachi